Sometimes I can be abrasive

First: Play to the music I have linked before you read this. You will probably finish reading this before the song ends. I wish there could always be a soundtrack to what is happening and when it’s supposed to be quite, it will be.

It’s part of my own nature. Everyone has their own downfalls, though I do believe we all have positives. I tend to show my deep down emotions through some of my paintings. It sometimes is a way for me to work out my struggles, free my personal demons and feel like I’ve survived a bloody battle.

You know that feeling of purity after you’ve ran for 45 minutes? That’s what I get after I finish a painting (or running for 45 minutes, makes me miss Iraq). I guess I really wish I could live on that high plateau forever. Just on top of life, the world is too small (if you don’t believe me look at this: http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c179/x941x/Random/Ifeelsmall.jpg )

I know that some of my work reflects my sometimes abrasive attitude, though most of it’s in my earlier work. If I get enough requests I will take pictures to show it, but that early stuff was made off 100% energy without finesse. I’ll take creativity without talent over talent without creativity any day! This is something I wrote a while back. It reminds me of something I wrote in more recent times.

In Search of Self


The words I’m writing don’t exist

What you are reading isn’t real

The images you see in front of you

is just your imagination

The name you respond to

has never been called

The words you speak

haven’t been spoken

The clothes you wear

weren’t manufactured

The thoughts you are thinking

were never created

History is fiction

The future will never come

You still haven’t realized

The words I’m writing don’t exist

What you are reading, isn’t real

I’ve had so many things happen in my life, I feel as if I’ve already lived more than most do within their whole life times. My experiences are sometimes a representation of what I paint, not always.

Here is a picture of “Chuck Norris” and I. He was given this title because he would practice his martial arts in the parking lot every morning before coming into work. He even showed me pictures of him and his kids with gees on. One of the nicest human beings I’ve ever met.

www.ericloiselle.com

  1. this is beautiful

  2. There’s a lot to digest in your post, Eric. It’s not clear to me if you are speaking generally of how you feel, or if you are sharing how you specifically feel at present. (boy-speak. It’s hard to hear clearly, sometimes 😉 )

    I appreciate your poem. It reminded me of this, from The Wordsmith 🙂

    For now we see through a glass, darkly, but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

    • It’s a little bit of both BB. I get very wrapped up in my work sometimes, and I know that I have a hard edge that gets shown as well. I guess this post was more of me getting stuff off my chest, and a few readers understanding a little bit more of who I am.

      The internet is a great thing, you get to meet all sorts of new people, but the down-side is you (mostly) never meet these people face to face.

      I’m glad you enjoyed my poem. The other one I wrote, I can’t share atm, it’s a little too personal. Someday I will.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

