Prints

I’ve always stuck by the concept of original art. I preferred it than mass productions of lots of famous and not-so-famous works. I’m not writing this to debate the topic, though if people want to, I will gladly oblige.

I still have to do some math in my head, but I found a place that will do reasonable priced prints (canvas prints, not paper), matted and framed. Being new to this, I’m not sure what kind of money is reasonable to charge for the print. Looking around I’ve found the same type of responses I have with what I should charge. I guess I would also have to add in shipping and material cost too.

Trying to be fair and make everyone, including myself, makes my head want to implode. I guess it goes with the territory. The first painting I ever sold was for $20 and I never cashed the check, I did frame it though (maybe I’ll show a pic someday). And, yes I am a dork, like you didn’t figure that out yet? However selling a painting and selling a print of a painting are two completely different things.

Anyone solve this problem for themselves with success?

Btw, these are two paintings I plan on getting prints of. I only have about 4/5 I would do in total, and that’s really stretching it. Fire away with any opinions/comments.

http://www.ericloiselle.com/american_heartbeat.html

http://www.ericloiselle.com/welcome_machine.html

    • opoetoo
    • June 9th, 2010

    Wow! I love “the price of beauty” and “hour after hour”.
    I like “welcome to the machine ” as well.
    Some of the others I was interested in but those stand out to me. Okay I am writing this and thinking of :”you fail me” and “seconds before your death” so I reckon I should mention them too.

    • dawnblair
    • June 17th, 2010

    I guess I’m a dork too. My first step into the public art world was when I entered the art show at our local county fair. I did it because I just wanted to see how I felt my art compared with others — I didn’t expect anything major to come of it. I was merely curious where my own skills were at. I ended up winning a 1st, 3rd, and honorable mentions in the categories I entered. My award was a total of $13.00, cash. I framed the bills – and I use the word “framed” very loosely! — and they hang in my office as a reminder of the success that started it all. It reminds me of the road behind me and that success can be unexpected. Yep, I’m a dork too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

