Looking For Fellow Artists (Re-Post)

I’ll try to make this brief and to the point. I’ve only been blogging for a few months, and I never set out to be an art blog guru. However, part of me feels like I’m wasting my time. One of my goals was to find some other artist that I have some common ground with to talk about art, and our own art. I really haven’t obtained that goal. Heck, I haven’t even found a handful of people to give my art to for free, never mind other artist to talk with.

I know blogging started out as something of just getting out your ideas in an open format in the forever expanding space of the internet, though it’s evolved into something much more. It’s a way to get connected with people, and that’s one object that I have yet to grab a hold of. I would like to change that.

So what I am simply asking is for some other artist out there that might look at my work, read my words/thoughts and think they can vibe with me for some sort of meaningful conversations/discussions.

If anyone that reads this thinks someone else may benefit from this, please pass it along. You can get in contact with me in a message, comment or send me your e-mail address through my site.

www.ericloiselle.com

Thanks in advance,

– Eric

Note: I might post this once more, not sure. Sorry for being a semi-spammer.

  1. Yo Yo ! I’m feelin the same…. Still t enjoy the next outlet of creation that this whole blog thing gives

  2. Eric, it sounds like you have not been blogging for very long?

    If the goal for your blog is to discuss art here on your own blog, you will need to first be a little proactive about cultivating on line contacts within the blogging community.

    Have you tried browsing the “art, painting, drawing,” tags in wordpress? You can select tags you want to follow in the “tag surfer” (left hand side of your dashboard). From there, find folk who are interested in the same disciplines as you, and introduce yourself on their blogs.

    Most, though not all, will visit you in return (that’s just common blog etiquette) and from there you will find some contacts who are like minded.

    I would also use more tags, which will attract more wordpress users. For example, if you are giving away a painting, I would have used the tags; free, giveaway, competition, etc. It sounds like you are studying somewhere? Use the school, life, etc. tags as well. Have a browse of the tags you use already, and see what other tags people list similar posts under.

    Don’t lose heart if it takes a little while. 🙂

    But remember, on line friendships are similar in many ways to real life friendships and interactions: you get out of them what you are prepared to invest, and many of the same rules apply.

    If someone speaks to you in real life, it would be devastating rude to ignore them. The same applies on your blog. Some bloggers are too pretentious to answer comments, and if you have a following of hundreds or thousands, perhaps you can be that pretentious too, but for the common man, answering comments in your usual friendly manner goes a long way.

    And just as you would like people to participate in conversation here, they will likewise appreciate you participating in conversation at their place, about their work.

    Having said all that, I’m an exception: I’m commenting here out of shear, unadulterated benevolence. Usually people will comment only if they are hugely moved by something, or they think there is enough in common that you will visit back. I doubt (judging by your age and gender) that you will be someone with burning interest in the kind of things I blog about. 😛 But I like to see people succeed.

    If you already know the things I have shared with you, forgive my interference.

    Kindly,
    Beyondbluestockings.

    • Beyond,

      I actually appreciate your words. I do wish I had a guide to help me get more out of what I write. I also do try to comment and visit other bloggers that have visited my page, though I don’t have too many regular visitors, and even on the ones that do, I get referrers, which don’t offer a specific page to return a visit. Again I’m not sure if it’s something that I could alter.

      You’re also right on the tags aspect as well. I guess I need to invest some more time into learning this tool. I do plan on writing until I can’t, I just have numerous goals within this one product. Having a source to outlet my words, thoughts and paintings, regardless of hits I get, always makes me happy.

      I’ll take your words like a bag of gems, and see what jewels I can turn them in to.

      Thank You,
      – Eric

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

