Story of a Painting – Three Textures and A Million Thoughts

One of the things I find in being a modern artist, is I tend to use everyday objects in my paintings (not naked ladies and children like during The Renaissance). I figure I pick this one as my second painting to talk about due to the fact that it’s one painting that (almost) gets the most comments. I’ve had two close sales with this one, if it wasn’t for bad timing it would have been sold (stupid timing), but I digress.

One of the main reasons why I call this a personal achievement for myself is that I was able to take my approaches to this, and it worked perfectly. Sometimes I attempt something and it doesn’t work or I have to go back after and re-touch it up. This one, I didn’t need to do a thing.

The reason why it’s titled this is because I used three different items/objects to get the feel of the paint. One was a mixture of ingredients (SECRET INGREDIENTS!), which is showcased on the upper left. The second was a long comb, which is on the right. I had to keep a steady hand, like a surgeon! Third tool of choice was another item in my arsenal (if you guess what it is, I’ll tell you)!

Then there were the choices of colors, and I wanted to grab ones that wouldn’t always go together but make them fit. I used about a dozen, but I kept them in various orders so they didn’t seem awkward. I knew I was taking a risk with the Aqua Green I used in the mesh on the bottom, but it works.

I painted the sides of this a Bright Copper. It gives off a nice bright feeling when you look at it from an angle. It was a color I used more as an effect, than something I would choose to either compliment or contrast.

All in all, I am very happy with this one, and I hope you enjoy it too. Be proud of your work!

Song: I try not to limit myself and have lots of varying pieces I create. Though sometime being repetitive in your work isn’t a bad thing. Philip Glass: Metamorphosis Part 1

www.ericloiselle.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

